The laws in Texas for marijuana possession and use are very strict. The state legislature feels that marijuana in their state brings more crime and more problems; therefore, the laws against marijuana carry penalties much harsher than most other states in America. The penalties, however, will differ based on how much is found in your possession and any previous offenses you might have.
The laws for marijuana possession in Texas for less than two ounces will grant you a maximum sentence of 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2000. If this is your first offense, however, you may be eligible for community service or a rehabilitation program to replace or lessen your sentence.
If you are found carrying any amount of marijuana from 5 to 50 pounds, you could find yourself spending a minimum of two years in state prison. Texas takes this kind of offense serious and is considered a felony with punishments that can go as high as 20 to 99 years in prison.
In the event you are caught selling marijuana anywhere in Texas, you are in for a much harsher punishment. If you are found selling more than 5 but less than 50 pounds, you can serve up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $10,000. If more than 50 pounds, punishments are even higher.
If you use marijuana and are traveling across the country, you must learn about the marijuana laws in each state. Until marijuana laws change nationally, you could be subject to criminal charges, especially in Texas. Simply entering El Paso from New Mexico with marijuana could spell trouble. If this happens to you, you’ll need a criminal defense attorney to provide a solid defense for your case. It’s definitely better to learn the laws in advance than to learn them the hard way.